

- WHEREAS, Memorial Day was first observed as Decoration Day on May 30, 1868 as an occasion for many Americans to decorate the graves of fallen Civil War Soldiers; and,
- WHEREAS, after World War I, this day was expanded to include fallen members of all of our nation's wars and after World War II, this day officially became known as Memorial Day. In 1971, Congress established Memorial Day as a federal holiday to be observed on the last Monday of May each year; and.
- WHEREAS, we recognize the sacrifices and contributions the men and women of our armed forces have made upholding the principles of democracy and freedom. We extend gratitude to the families of our service members and recognize their sacrifices and unwavering devotion. Without their support, our men and women could not have completed their missions successfully; and,
- WHEREAS, this Memorial Day, we express our deepest appreciation to the men and women who laid down their lives in service to our Nation and we mourn with the families and friends of those lost. It is our duty to preserve the legacy of those brave Americans who died defending our great Country and our "unalienable rights" to "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness"; and,
- WHEREAS, during this time of reflection, we honor and commend those from Gaston County who have contributed to this great Country. Our County has a long and decorated history of military service and our citizens have made significant contributions locally and worldwide.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners salutes our services members for their outstanding devotion to Duty, Honor, and Country and recognizes

Memorial Day, Monday, May 28, 2018

as a day to honor and remember our fallen heroes. The Commission further encourages the Citizens of Gaston County to unite in prayer and reflection for the many sacrifices and accomplishments of our fallen soldiers, their families, and our Veterans.

	Chad Brown, Chairman	
Allen R. Fraley		Tom Keigher, Vice-Chairman
Donald J. Grant, Jr.		Tracy L. Philbeck
Roh Hovis		Ponald E. Worlov