

- WHEREAS, the Cramerton Police Department celebrated its 50th Anniversary on October 1, 2017; and,
- WHEREAS, in June 1967, Mayor Paul Feathersone and the Cramerton Town Board believed that the Cramerton community should be protected by its own law enforcement officers; and,
- WHEREAS, on August 28, 1967, Town Board Member G.M. Michael was charged with hiring the first Cramerton Police Chief; and,
- WHEREAS, on October 1st, Chief Lewis Brittain was sworn-in to lead the first agency; and,
- WHEREAS, since its establishment, the Cramerton Police Department has been led by Chief Brittain, Chief Larry Rick, Chief James Coley, Chief M. David Young and Chief Greg Ratchford; and,
- WHEREAS, over the past half century, eighty-six men and women have been charged with the enforcement of the law and protection of the Cramerton community.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners hereby congratulates and commends

## THE CRAMERTON POLICE DEPARTMENT

upon their 50th Anniversary and the Board further expresses its gratitude to the men and women, past and present, who by their faithful dedication to duty, have rendered this vital public service to the citizens of Cramerton.

Chad Brown, Chairman

Allen R. Fraley

Tom Keigher

Donald J. Grant, Jr.

Tracy L. Philbeck

**Bob Hovis** 

Ronald E. Worley, Vice-Chairman

To be Adopted the 14<sup>th</sup> Day of November 2017