# BY-LAWS OF THE GASTON COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

### Article 1. General Rules

The Economic Development Commission will operate as an administrative agency of the Gaston County Commissioners within the framework of the following limitations:

- A. Provisions set forth in our Constitution; and,
- B. Rules and laws passed by the County Commissioners

# Article 2. Officers and Duties

- A. Elections of Officers The Economic Development Commission shall organize and elect a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Treasurer annually at the regular meeting in the month of January. A staff member will perform the duties of Secretary. After any change of Officers, the Clerk to the Board of Commissioners will be notified.
- B. Chairman The Chairman shall preside at all meetings and public hearings of the Economic Development Commission, shall decide on all matters of order and procedure using Robert's Rules of Order; and shall appoint any committees found necessary to investigate any matters before the Economic Development Commission or to perform any of its duties. After any change of Chairman, the Clerk to the Board of Commissioners will be notified.
- C. Vice-Chairman The Vice-chairman shall assume the duties of the Chairman in his absence.
- D. 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairman The 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairman shall assume the duties of the Chairman in the absence of the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman.
- E. Secretary The Secretary shall keep the Minutes of the Economic Development Commission, shall send out notices of regular meetings of the Economic Development Commission in advance of the meetings, shall give 48 hours' phone notice of special meetings, carry-on routine correspondence and maintain the files of the EDC.

# Article 3. Meetings

All meetings are subject to the open meetings laws. In adhering to the open meetings laws, the news media/sunshine list must be provided with written notice 48 hours in advance of any meeting.

- A. Regular Meetings Regular meetings of the EDC shall be held on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Tuesday of every other month at 12:00 Noon (bi-monthly meetings). The meeting location will be announced when the monthly notices are sent out. The Chairman may change meeting times and locations as needed.
- B. *Special Meetings* Special meetings of the EDC may be called at any time by the Chairman, provided that at least 48 hours' notice is given to each member.
- C. Quorum A majority of the actual membership of the board [excluding vacant seats] shall constitute a quorum. A majority is more than half. A member who has withdrawn from a meeting without being excused by majority vote of the remaining members present shall be counted as present for purposes of determining whether a quorum is present.

- D. *Conduct of Meetings* All meetings shall be open to the public. The news media will be provided with written notice 48 hours in advance of the meeting.
- E. *Vote* Except as otherwise specified herein, the vote of a majority of those members present shall be sufficient to decide matters before the EDC, provided a quorum is present.
- F. *Cancellation of Meetings* Whenever there is no business for the EDC, the Chairman may dispense with a regular meeting by giving notice to all members not less than 48 hours prior to the time set for the meeting.
- G. Attendance Attendance will be recorded cumulatively for the calendar year, and shall be reported to the Clerk to the Board of Commissioners on the approved form within one (1) week of each board/committee or related sub-committee meeting. With the exception of medical reasons, any member of a BOC appointed Board may be removed from office if he/she:
  - 1. Is absent from three (3) consecutive advisory board meetings
  - 2. Has less than a 60% annual attendance at advisory board meetings

# Article 4. Appointments

Members shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners to staggered three-year terms. In the case of resignation, death or termination of membership on the EDC, the appointee's County Commissioner shall have the responsibility to appoint an individual to fill the unexpired term. Member changes/recommendations for seats nominated by other agencies/authorities should be reported to the Clerk to the Board of Commissioners for consideration at the next Board of Commissioners' Regular Meeting. The EDC shall be composed of one (1) appointee from each township, except for Gastonia, which will have two appointees. The remaining membership shall be constituted as follows:

- A. A Gaston County representative from the Gaston County School System will be an exofficio member to the EDC in a non-voting capacity.
- B. A Gaston County representative from Gaston College will be an ex-officio member to the EDC in a non-voting capacity.
- C. One non-voting seat to be nominated from a Gaston County municipal governing board on a rotation basis every three years. A municipality may choose to defer their nomination to the next municipality. This appointment is hereby established and effective as outlined in Appendix A.
- D. One (1) seat to be filled by the Chairperson or his/her designee of the Gaston County Board of Commissioners with full voting privileges.
- E. One (1) seat to be appointed ex-officio from the Gaston County Travel and Tourism Advisory Board with full voting privileges.

#### Article 5. Records

- A. The Secretary shall maintain files of all studies, plans, reports and recommendations made by the EDC in the discharge of its duties and responsibilities.
- B. All minutes of the EDC shall be public records.

Approved and adopted by the Gaston County Economic Development Commission on the \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 2023.

Julie Roper, Chair Gaston County Economic Development Commission

#### \*\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### **Certification**

I, Donna S. Buff, Clerk to the Gaston County Board of Commissioners, do hereby certify that the above is a true and accurate copy of the Economic Development Commission By-laws as adopted by the Gaston County Board of Commissioners on October 24, 2023.

Donna S. Buff, Clerk to the Board

SEAL

# Exhibit A

# Municipal Appointment - Rotation Schedule

# EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2024

Belmont – January 1, 2024	Kings Mountain – January 1, 2045
Bessemer City – January 1, 2027	Lowell – January 1, 2048
Cherryville – January 1, 2030	McAdenville – January 1, 2051
Cramerton – January 1, 2033	Mount Holly – January 1, 2054
Dallas – January 1, 2036	Ranlo – January 1, 2057
Gastonia – January 1, 2039	Stanley – January 1, 2060
High Shoals – January 1, 2042	