

- WHEREAS, on September 13, 1939, the Gaston Jaycees Chapter was officially chartered under the leadership of its first president, Basil Whitener, marking the beginning of an extraordinary journey of community service, leadership, and civic engagement; and,
- WHEREAS, for 85 years, the Gaston Jaycees have remained dedicated to the ideals of service and leadership development, impacting the lives of countless individuals across the community; and,
- WHEREAS, the Gaston Jaycees have spearheaded major community projects, including the beloved Gastonia Christmas Parade, which is now celebrating its 70th year; the Distinguished Service Awards, which have honored community leaders for 74 years; the annual Back-to-School Shopping initiative, still going strong after 30 years; and the David Gaines Memorial Scholarship, which has awarded many deserving Gaston County high school seniors since its inception in 1970; and,
- WHEREAS, the Gaston Jaycees continue to be the premier young professional organization for individuals between the ages of 21 and 40, providing leadership training, networking opportunities, community service, and lifelong friendships; and,
- WHEREAS, in 1985, the Gaston Jaycees proudly welcomed women into the organization, and six women have since served as president; Ms. Andrea Grenier has the distinction of being the only Gaston Jaycee to serve as North Carolina State President; and,
- WHEREAS, in 2024, Mr. Kendrick McDowell was elected as the first Black American president of the Gaston Jaycees, continuing the chapter's commitment to celebrating diverse perspectives and cultivating a collaborative network among young adults.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners commends and celebrates the **85th Anniversary of the Gaston Jaycees**, recognizing their longstanding contributions to the community, their commitment to leadership, and their dedication to service. Let this milestone be a testament to their continued success in shaping the future of Gaston County and beyond.

Chad Brown, Chairman

Cathy Cloninger

Kim Johnson

Allen R. Fraley

Tom Keigher

Bob Hovis, Vice-Chairman

Ronald E. Worley

To be Adopted the 19th Day of September 2024