

- WHEREAS, on December 17, 2016, the South Point High School "Red Raiders" Football Team captured its fifth State Championship title by defeating the Rocky Mount Gryphons in the NCHSAA 3A State Championship game at Wake Forest's BB&T Stadium in Winston-Salem, NC; and,
- WHEREAS, the Red Raiders overcame a half-time deficit to claim the title with a 16-7 win over the Gryphons in the grueling defensive battle; and,
- WHEREAS, the Red Raiders launched their 2016 season with a renewed focus and resolve to return to the State Championship after coming within one game of the coveted title in 2015; and,
- WHEREAS, finishing 6-1 in the Big South 2A/3A Conference, the Red Raiders charged through the playoffs defeating their opponents by a staggering 188-13 margin and finishing the season 12-4 overall.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners commends and congratulates the South Point "Red Raiders" Football Team, its coaches, managers and support team upon winning the

2016 North Carolina State 3A Football Championship

and salutes each of them for their excellent teamwork and fine sportsmanship as follows:

Alex Campbell	Jake Alexander	Matthew Robinson	Riley Nichols
Aryn Moore	James Granson	Max Mead	Sean Burns
Cade Ratliff	Jerme Leeper	Naseem Jones	Scottie Lee
Caleb Gibson	Jesse Singleton	Nathan Hamilton	Tanner Canterberry
CJ Jennings	Josh Bogen	Nathan Silver	Thomas Lempereur
Dalton Rhodes	Josh Hicks	Nick Farmer	Tre Glenn
Dillon Neagle	Jr Scipio	Nick Gange	Ty Tinker
Ethan Jackson	Keaton Hale	Nick Muse	Tyler Kotula
Hunter Cornelison	Larry Dowdy	Nolan Cochran	Victor Hernandez
Hunter Marett	Lawrence Haley	Payton Graham	Wesley Barker
Jacob Barnhart	Mario Brandon, Jr.	Phillip Davis	Zach Scandrett
Jacob Blackert	Matt Thomas	Ray Grier	Zane Andrews

Coaches and Staff: Coach Mickey Lineberger, Phil Tate, Adam Hodge, Brian Andrews, Scott Lee, Joe Shepherd, Mike Hicks, Kent Hyde, James Justice, Josh Justice, Mitch Painter, Chip Wilson, Shaunte Southern, Jason Lineberger, Sam Montgomery, Jeff Padgett, Mark McLeary, Rev. Joe Lawing, Tom Chao, Dr. David Rinehart, Dr. Michael McCarney, Tracy Watson, Lane Lineberger, Reid Wilson

	Chad Brown, Chairman	
Allen R. Fraley		Tom Keigher
Donald J. Grant, Jr.		Tracy L. Philbeck
Bob Hovis		Ronald E. Worley, Vice-Chairman