

WHEREAS,	Gaston County will celebrate its 175 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary on December 21, 2021; and,		
WHEREAS,	Gaston County was first inhabited by Cherokee and Catawba Indians, and was late settled by German, Scotch Irish, and English immigrants, and now has a population on nearly 228,000 residents from a multitude of backgrounds; and,		
WHEREAS,	Gaston County is now the ninth largest county population-wise in the state of Nor Carolina; and,		
WHEREAS,	Gaston County has added more than 46,000 residents to its population since the councelebrated its Sesquicentennial in 1996; and,		
WHEREAS,	The North Carolina General Assembly split Gaston County from Lincoln County to allow for smaller and more localized government; and,		
WHEREAS,	Gaston County's original seat was in Dallas and was moved to Gastonia 110 years ago following a vote by its residents; and,		
WHEREAS,	Gaston County has, through visionary leadership, diversified its economy and built upon the strengths of its citizens to grow a strong manufacturing base with good paying, long-lasting jobs; and,		
WHEREAS,	Gaston County has a proud history with a bright and prosperous future; and,		
WHEREAS,	all of Gaston County's 14 municipalities are all invited to participate in the celebration.		
NOW, THEREF	County's 175th Annive	ersary will be celebrated in n Gastonia, along with oth	Board of Commissioners, that Gaston a ceremony on December 21, 2021, at ner events marked by an official 175 <sup>th</sup>
BE IT FURTHE	ER RESOLVED that th made a part of the Mir		pted the 26 <sup>th</sup> day of October, 2021, be
		Tom Keigher, Chairman	
Chad Brown		-	Kim Johnson
Allen R. Fraley, \	/ice-Chairman	-	Tracy L. Philbeck

Bob Hovis

Ronald E. Worley