

- WHEREAS, in 1984 President Ronald Regan signed into law National Social Worker Month and brought focus to the Social Work profession's dedication to improving human well-being and enhancing the basic needs of all people without exception; and,
- WHEREAS, this year's Social Work Month theme, "Social Work Breaks Barriers" underscores the critical work Social Workers are doing to ensure communities, families and individuals are safe, have basic needs met and are thriving; and,
- WHEREAS, the Social Work profession provides services outside normal therapeutic environments, removing barriers to accessing behavioral, mental, and physical health services for individuals and families; and,
- WHEREAS, Social Workers have continued to support changes that have made our society a better place to live, including improved workplace safety and social safety net programs that help ameliorate poverty, hunger, and homelessness; and,
- WHEREAS, Social Workers have helped this nation live up to its values by successfully advocating for equal rights for all, through diversity, equity and inclusion efforts that respect self-determination, freedom of religion, access to education and, employment initiatives to provide pathways for self-sufficiency; and,
- WHEREAS, a single Social Worker can positively influence individuals and families to improve health outcomes, provide better care for our aging populations, help communities respond to opioid and substance use disorders, homelessness, domestic violence and, encourage others to become foster families changing the life of a child forever; and,
- WHEREAS, Social Workers are dedicated to helping others achieve successful outcomes through the removal of barriers.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED in recognition of the numerous contributions made by Gaston County's Social Workers, the Gaston County Board of Commissioners proclaims the month of March 2023 as

## National Social Work Month

and calls upon all citizens to join in the celebration and support of the Social Work Profession.

Chad Brown, Chairman

Cathy Cloninger

Kim Johnson

Allen R. Fraley

Bob Hovis, Vice-Chairman

Tom Keigher

Ronald E. Worley