

WHEREAS, the Stuart W. Cramer High School Men's Golf Team delivered a dominant 2025 season, winning the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) Big South 3A Conference Championship for the third consecutive year, securing their second straight 3A West Regional title, and going on to claim the Storm's first-ever 3A Golf State Championship on May 13, 2025;

and,

WHEREAS, Lane Crotts was named the 2025 Big South 3A Golfer of the Year for the Storm, with Drew Mercer finishing a close second and Aiden Vargosko placing third in the conference standings; all three, along with teammate Britton Steede, earned All-Conference honors for their

outstanding performances; and,

WHEREAS, the Storm captured the NCHSAA 3A West Regional title for the second consecutive year, overcoming early adversity after falling as low as sixth place after the front 9, and rallying to victory thanks to a dramatic eagle on the 18th hole by senior Aiden Vargosko; and,

WHEREAS, the team carried their momentum into the 3A State Championship at Gates Four Country Club in Fayetteville, NC, where they tied Terry Sanford High School, at a combined score of 585, 9-over par, before locking up the State Championship title in a thrilling playoff-round tiebreaker against the Bulldogs; and,

WHEREAS, Lane Crotts led Stuart Cramer with a 3-under-par 141 to tie for third place overall, highlighted by an impressive 3-under final round, and Aiden Vargosko finished ninth overall with a 1-under-par 143. Drew Mercer (5-over 149), Britton Steede (9-over 153), and Ian Irish (9-over 153) each played a vital role in helping secure the Storm's state title victory; and,

WHEREAS, Luke Stevens was presented the NC Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award for demonstrating the ideals of outstanding character and sportsmanship throughout the 2024-25 season.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners commends and applauds the following members of the Stuart W. Cramer "Storm" Men's Golf Team for their impressive season and distinguished achievements, namely:

Lane Crotts, Ian Irish , Drew Mercer, Britton Steede, Trip Stacey, Luke Stevens, Aiden Vargosko, Assistant Coach Matthew Jackson and Coach Ben McMillian

and further congratulates them upon winning their first NCHSAA 3A Golf State Championship.

| | Chad Brown, Chairman | | |
|-----------------------------|----------------------|--------------|--|
| Jim Bailey | | Bob Hovis | |
| Cathy Cloninger, Vice-Chair | | Tom Keigher | |
| Allen R. Fralev | | Scott Shehan | |