

WHEREAS, the Governor's Volunteer Service Award honors the true spirit of volunteerism by recognizing individuals, groups and businesses that make a significant contribution to their community through volunteer service; and,

WHEREAS, any person, group, or entity from the public – non-profit and private sector – may be nominated for an award through a county award coordinator. County award coordinators submit their top 10 volunteer nominations per county; and,

WHEREAS, there are eligibility requirements and several categories for the type of nominee (senior, youth, faith-based, family, group, business, etc.). Additional categories are based upon the area of service (animal, environmental, disaster, youth, preservation, etc.). County recommendations are reviewed by the State Commission and awards are given out in the counties; and,

WHEREAS, the United Way of Gaston County coordinates our County efforts, advertises, collects applications, and with a review panel, makes recommendations to the State of North Carolina.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners congratulates and extend its deepest appreciation to:

John Philip "Flip" Bombardier
Kaitlyn Dockery
Rev. Dr. Joan Martin
Heather Vernitsky

Aubrey Iona Bridges Rebecca Lipka Richard Ruhlman Jaimie White

upon being named the 2023 recipients of the Governor's Volunteer Award and further recognizes the recipients for their outstanding and exemplary volunteer service to Gaston County.

Cha	ad Brown, Chairman
Cathy Cloninger	Kim Johnson
Allen R. Fraley	Tom Keigher
Bob Hovis, Vice-Chairman	Ronald E. Worley



Gaston County

Gaston County Board of Commissioners www.gastongov.com

Commissioners Board Action

Cil	ما	#.	22	-29	1
ГΝ	œ	#:	2.0	-/3	ı

Commissioners Keigher & Worley - BOC - Commendation - Governor's Volunteer Service Award

STAFF CONTACT

Donna S. Buff - Clerk to the Board - 704-866-3196

BACKGROUND

The Board of Commissioners and the Gaston County United Way coordinated to publicly recognize the following 2023 recipients of the Governor's Service Award at the Commissioners June 13, 2023 Work Session: John Philip "Flip" Bombardier, Aubrey Iona Bridges, Kaitlyn Dockery, Rebecca Lipka, Rev. Dr. Joan Martin, Richard Ruhlman, Heather Vernitsky, and Jaimie White.

ATTACHMENTS

Governor's Volunteer Service Award Commendation / Recipient Information

							,	and the first of
	DO NOT TYPE BELOW THIS LINE							
	i. Buff, Clerk t he Board of C					reby cer	tify that the	above is a true and correct copy of actio
NO.	DATE	M1	М2	CBrown	CCloninger	AFraley	BHovis	KJohnson TKeigher RWdriey vote
2023-192	06/13/2023	RW	AF	Α	Α	Α	Α	A AB A U
DISTRIBU								