

WHEREAS,	motorcycle riding is a popular form of recreation and transportation for thousands of citizens across North Carolina and the United States, and as of 2023, North Carolina had over 250,000 registered motorcycles, representing approximately 2% of all registered vehicles in the state; and,
WHEREAS,	Motorcycle Awareness Month is designed to increase public awareness about motorcycles and to encourage their safe and proper use among riders; and,
WHEREAS,	while motorcycles account for just 2% of all registered vehicles in the state, they comprise nearly 10% of all traffic fatalities annually; and,
WHEREAS,	based on recent data, an estimated 3,000 motorcycle accidents occur annually in North Carolina, leading to roughly 190 fatalities and over 2,500 injuries each year; and,
WHEREAS,	the safe operation of motorcycles is enhanced through a combination of rider education and training, experience, the use of highly visible safety gear, including compliant helmets, good judgment, and knowledge of traffic laws and licensing requirements; and,
WHEREAS,	it is important for motorists to exercise extra caution and attentiveness when sharing the road with motorcycles, as their smaller size makes them harder to see and their riders more vulnerable in the event of a crash; and,
WHEREAS,	organizations such as the Gaston County Chapter of the Concerned Bikers Association/ABATE of NC, the North Carolina Motorcycle Safety Education Program, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and various state and local motorcycle clubs are committed to promoting motorcycle awareness and rider safety through education and training campaigns.
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners does hereby proclaim the month of May 2025 as	
Motorcycle Safety Awareness Month	
	in Gaston County and encourages all citizens to recognize the importance of motorcycle safety, to be aware of motorcycles on the roadways, and to support initiatives that promote safe riding practices - "LOOK TWICE AND SAVE A LIFE!"

Jim Bailey

Bob Hovis

Cathy Cloninger, Vice-Chair

Tom Keigher

Allen R. Fraley

Scott Shehan

Chad Brown, Chairman