

WHEREAS, Fifty years ago, on September 6, 1967, Gaston Day School opened its doors as the first independent school in Gaston County with 142 students, grades kindergarten through 9th, in a red brick building formerly used by the First Presbyterian Church in Belmont; and,

WHEREAS, J.S. Smith, J. Landon Thompson and W. Duke Kimbrell organized the school to provide relief from overcrowded public schools and to ensure that students were prepared for success in the increasingly competitive college environment and beyond; and,

WHEREAS, the school's burgeoning success quickly brought on the need for expansion and a 42,000 square foot structure was erected at the current Airport Road location in September, 1970 to house 416 students, including all grades from pre-school through 12<sup>th</sup>; and,

WHEREAS, with additional growth came new buildings on the 60-acre campus – beginning with the W. Duke Kimbrell Learning Center in 1994, the Pamela Kimbrell Warlick Visual and Performing Arts Center in 1999, the James Heyward Henry Student Activity Center in 2001, and the Frances H. Henry Field in March, 2016; and,

WHEREAS, known as one of the finest college-preparatory schools in the Southeast, Gaston Day School graduates are accepted into four-year colleges and universities across the United States at a rate of 100 percent, regularly earning the most competitive and prestigious scholarships offered; and,

WHEREAS, intellectual independence, critical thinking, original research and character development are just a few of the fundamental principles that guide the school, which cultivates the artists, inventors, storytellers and bigpicture thinkers that are changing the future.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Gaston County Board of Commissioners hereby commends and congratulates

## **GASTON DAY SCHOOL**

upon its 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary and further recognizes the School, its alumni and students as an integral part of Gaston County's future and progressive growth.

	Chad Brown, Chairman	
Allen R. Fraley		Tom Keigher
Donald J. Grant, Jr.		Tracy L. Philbeck
Bob Hovis		Ronald F Worley Vice-Chairman