

- WHEREAS, the Gaston Clergy and Citizens Coalition (GC3), an initiative of Gaston Together, is a County-wide, non-denominational ministerial association formed in the late 1990's by Gaston Together; and,
- WHEREAS, GC3 established the Gaston County Martin Luther King (MLK) Unity Award in 2004 to honor the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to recognize current or former Gaston County citizens who have performed exemplary community service to help build bridges of unity across lines of class, race, gender, faith and/or municipalities within our County; and,
- WHEREAS, the MLK Unity Award showcases the humanitarian spirit of Dr. King and is presented annually at the MLK Plaza, in downtown Gastonia, on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; and,
- WHEREAS, the MLK Plaza, located at the intersection of North Marietta and Long Avenue, was created by GC3 and features a monument with the words, "I have a dream..." in seventeen different languages, and is engraved with the names of the honorees; and,
- WHEREAS, the 2021 Gaston County MLK Unity Award was presented to Gastonia Police Chief Travis Brittain, Rev. Dr. Rodney Freeman and Mrs. Shaaron Miller Funderburk on Monday, January 18, 2021; and,
- WHEREAS, Chief Brittain and Rev. Dr. Freeman were honored together due to their work and partnership to promote, facilitate and help to spread community awareness of the GC3/Law Enforcement Covenant, originally signed in March 2016. Mrs. Funderburk was recognized for her work with the *Off the Streets* Program, Inc. a program designed to assist women in getting off the streets and becoming free from street life, drugs, and alcohol.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners congratulates and extend its deepest appreciation to

Gastonia Police Chief Travis Brittain Rev. Dr. Rodney Freeman Mrs. Shaaron Miller Funderburk

upon being named the 2021 recipients of the Gaston County MLK Unity Award. The Board further recognizes the recipients and GC3 for their continued efforts to build bridges of unity in Gaston County!

Tom Kei	gher, Chairman
Chad Brown	Kim Johnson
Allen R. Fraley, Vice-Chairman	Tracy L. Philbeck
Bob Hovis	Ronald E. Worley