

- WHEREAS, the Dallas Township Rescue Squad was established in January 1974 by a group of dedicated citizens led by Mr. Earl Withers, Sr. and Mr. Don McCombs, recognizing the urgent need for emergency medical response and transportation in the Dallas area, and in their last five decades, members have responded to over 281,262 calls during its service to the Dallas community; and,
- WHEREAS, the inaugural meeting of the Dallas Township Rescue Squad was convened in April 1974 and attended by approximately 23 citizens. On August 4, 1974, the Dallas Township Rescue Squad answered its first call for service and responded to two hundred and twelve emergency calls in its inaugural year; and,
- WHEREAS, the original call sheet from that first year remains displayed within their building, serving as a testament to the squad's humble beginnings and dedication to community service; and,
- WHEREAS, the Dallas Township Rescue Squad's first headquarters was located at the Dallas Funeral Home in Dallas. They began answering calls with just two used station wagons purchased through Gaston County. These two station wagons were retrofitted with a stretcher and very basic medical supplies in order to treat and transport patients; and,
- WHEREAS, from those modest beginnings, the Dallas Township Rescue Squad has evolved into a formidable force with a fleet comprised of two rescue trucks, six ambulances, a boat, an All-Terrain Vehicle, an inflatable raft, and a quick response vehicle; and,
- WHEREAS, in April 2005, they transitioned from an all-volunteer department to a combination department, further solidifying their commitment to professional and responsive emergency services; and,
- WHEREAS, the Dallas Township Rescue Squad will celebrate its 50th Anniversary on April 14, 2024.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Gaston County Board of Commissioners joins in commending and honoring

## The Dallas Township Rescue Squad

upon the celebration of their 50th Anniversary and expresses sincere appreciation for their continuing service and contributions to the Dallas Township and the citizens of Gaston County.

	Chad Brown, Chairman	
Cathy Cloninger		Kim Johnson
Allen R. Fraley		Tom Keigher
Roh Hovis Vice-Chairman	<u> </u>	Ronald F. Worley